Were you charged with a violent crime such as a felony or misdemeanor assault in Spokane County? If so, you should seek the service of an experienced criminal defense attorney right away. Violent crimes – whether minor or severe – come with significant penalties. That is why it is essential that your rights are protected in such circumstances. Navigating the criminal process in the state of Washington is not an easy task. An experienced attorney is the best bet to deal with such situations. Here are important factors to consider when you are involved in a felony or misdemeanor assault in the state of Washington.
The crime of assault in Washington carries severe consequences. The law is such that it is designed to punish those who are involved in violent offenses more harshly compared to other offenses. When you are charged with such an offense, the court may set bail depending on the seriousness of the crime at your first appearance hearing.
The court may set condition of release which you should abide by while the case is going on. There are significant consequences that you may face if you are convicted of the charge. A criminal conviction on your record, loss of your right to vote, immigration restrictions, and loss of firearm rights are some of the consequences you may have to face.
The crime of assault is divided into various degrees
Assault in the First Degree is felony offenses – includes harming another person with a firearm or deadly weapon with the intention of causing bodily harm or death. A conviction may result in a prison time of 93-123 months for the first time offender.
Assault in the Second Degree is a strike and felony offenses – is when someone intentionally inflicts bodily harm to another person. For the first time offense, the standard punishment is 3-9 months in prison.
Assault in the Third Degree is a non-violent felony is not a strike offense and the first time offender will get a jail time of 1-3 months depending on the seriousness of the offense.
Assault in the Fourth Degree is considered a misdemeanor that comes with a maximum jail time of 364 days plus a $5,000 fine.
A professional attorney is the best bet to protect your rights under such circumstances. Call us right away if you are charged with any of these crimes.